Coaching Association of Canada

46 Outstanding Coaches Receive Recognition

November 4, 2009

CAC is pleased to announce the names of the 46 coaches honoured with a Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Award for 2009. These prestigious awards recognize coaches whose athletes excelled at various world championships and at the Special Olympics World Winter Games.

“The Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Awards are this country's most important forum for coach recognition,” says John Bales, Chief Executive Officer, Coaching Association of Canada. “Without these awards, the accomplishments of most of our great coaches could well go unnoticed.”

This year's winners are:

Shelley Barnett of Burlington, Ont., coach of Canada's world champion synchro skating team.

Randy Bennett of Brentwood Bay, B.C., coach of freestyle swimmer Ryan Cochrane, 1500-metres silver medallist and 800-metres bronze medallist.

Steve Bush of North Vancouver, B.C., national coach of Canada's Water Ski Team.

Marty Calder of St. Catharines, Ont., coach of freestyle wrestler Tonya Verbeek, bronze medallist in 55-kilograms.

Derrick Campbell of Cambridge, Ont., coach of short track speed skater Charles Hamelin, the 500-metres world champion, and of the 500-metres bronze medallist, Olivier Jean.

Dennis Capicik of Richmond Hill, Ont., coach of aerials bronze medallist Warren Shouldice.

Jonathon Cavar of Ottawa, coach of short track speed skater Jessica Gregg, the 500-metres bronze medallist.

Janet Collins of Wasaga Beach, Ont., coach of singles figure skater Christine Koutras, gold medallist at the Special Olympics World Winter Games, and of bronze medallist Vicky Dupont.

Mark Fawcett of Nelson, B.C., coach of snowboarder Jasey Jay Anderson, world champion in parallel giant slalom.

Lionel Finance of Gérardmer, France, coach of world downhill ski champion John Kucera.

Michel Gagnon of Longueuil, Que., coach of racquetball player Vincent Gagnon, bronze medallist at the World Games 2009.

Dominick Gauthier of Montréal, coach of moguls silver medallist Jennifer Heil.

Mark Granger of Léry, Que., coach of kayakers Richard Dober, Jr., and Andrew Willows, bronze medallists in K-2 200-metres.

Dusan Grasic of Invermere, B.C., coach of alpine skier Michael Janyk, slalom bronze medallist.

Sylvain Jean of Saint-Ferréol-les-Neiges, Que., coach of snowboarder Matt Morisson, bronze medallist in parallel giant slalom.

Brent Kehl of Vancouver, coach of ski cross world champion Ashleigh McIvoir and bronze medallist Davey Barr.

Rob Kober of Penticton, B.C., coach of moguls bronze medallist Vincent Marquise.

Jean-Sébastien Labrie of Plessisville, Que., coach of three world champion Para-alpine skiers? Joshua Dueck, Christopher Williamson, and double winner Lauren Woolstencroft.

Marcel Lacroix of Calgary, coach of long track speed skater Denny Morrison, 1000-metres silver medallist and 1500-metres bronze medallist.

Donald Lavigne of Petit Rocher, N.B., coach of Special Olympics World Winter Games cross country ski silver medallist Michael Morris and bronze medallist Heather Champion.

Yi Hua Li of Pointe-Claire, Que., coach of diver Émilie Heymans, silver medallist on the three-metre springboard.

Anthony McCleary of Pickering, Ont., coach of Priscilla Lopes-Schliep, silver medallist in 100-metres hurdles.

Arturo Miranda of Saint-Léonard, Que., coach of divers Alexandre Despatie and Reuben Ross, bronze medallists in three-metres synchro.

Mike Moffa of Montréal, coach of Arlene Fortin, world boxing champion in the 70 kilogram class.

Daniel Murphy of Laval, Que., coach of aerials silver medallist Steve Omischl.

Jozsef Nagy of Vancouver, coach of Annamay Peirse, silver medallist in 200-metres breaststroke.

Pat Oaten of Pointe-Claire, Que., coach of the women's water polo team, world championship silver medallists.

Scott Oldershaw of Burlington, Ont., coach of kayak bronze medallists Adam Van Koeverden in K-1 1000-metres and Team Canada, consisting of Kia Byers, Émilie Fournel, Genevieve Orton, and Karen Furneaux, in the 200-metres relay.

Jules Owchar of Edmonton, Alta., coach of the Kevin Martin rink, silver medallists at the 2009 world championships.

Ingrid Paul of Calgary, coach of long track speed skater Christine Nesbitt, the 1000-metres world champion and the 1500-metres bronze medallist.

Trennon Paynter of Squamish, B.C., coach of halfpipe silver medallists Justin Dorey and Megan Gunning.

Manon Perron of Boucherville, Que., coach of figure skater Joannie Rochette, world championship silver medallist.

Pierre Pomerleau of Charlesbourg, Que., coach of Para-cyclist Robert Labbé, time trial world champion.

Paul Ragusa of Calgary, coach of freestyle wrestler Justine Bouchard, bronze medallist in 63-kilograms.

Joe Rea of Prince George, B.C., coach of Team Canada – Jim Armstrong, Daryl Neighbour, Ina Forrest, Chris Sobkowica, and Sonja Gaudet, world champions in wheelchair curling.

Denise Sauvé of Montréal, coach of Team Canada, synchronized swimming bronze medallists.

Julie Sauvé of Montréal, coach of synchronized swimmer Marie-Pier Boudreau-Gagnon, solo bronze medallist.

Randal Scott of North Vancouver, B.C., coach of Special Olympic World Winter Games alpine skiing gold medallist Samantha Mayer and silver medallists Mitchell Grandberg, Kelsey Wyse, and David Boudreau.

Mark Smith of Falmouth, N.S., coach of Team Canada, bronze medallists at the world softball championships.

Mike Spracklen of Victoria, coach of the men's eights, winners of the world championship silver medal.

Charlie Stewart of Windsor, Ont., coach of Mary Spencer, world boxing champion in the 66-kilogram class.

Eric Van Den Eynde of Saint-Hilaire, Que., coach of cyclist Tara Whitten, track silver medallist, and of Daniel Chalifour, Para-cycling bronze medallist.

Xiuli Wang of Calgary, coach of long track speed skaters Clara Hughes, silver medallist in 5000-metres, and of Kristina Groves, bronze medallist in 3000-metres and 5000-metres.

Richard Wooles of Vancouver, coach of track cyclist Zach Bell, winner of the Omnium silver medal.

Victor Zilberman of Montréal, coach of Martine Dugrenier, freestyle wrestling world champion in 67-kilograms.

Marina Zoueva of Canton, Mich. (USA), coach of ice dancers Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir, world championship bronze medallists.

“When our Canadian athletes reach the podium, it is not without the support and dedication of a coach.” says Steven Keith, Director of Olympic Activation, Petro-Canada. “We are proud to continue Petro-Canada's tradition of honouring Canada's coaches for their dedication to sport.”

The awards will be presented during Petro-Canada Sport Leadership sportif 2009, scheduled to take place in Vancouver, November 12-15, 2009. The Sport Leadership Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday, November 13, 2009, at 6:30 pm at the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre Grand Ballroom.

Looking to coach a specific sport?