Coaching Association of Canada

The Sheila Robertson Award recognizes the outstanding contributions to coach education, recognition, and professional development by a National Sport Organization (NSO) or Multisport Service Organization (MSO). The Coaching Association of Canada annually awards the Sheila Robertson Award to an NSO or MSO which consistently demonstrates its value of coaching through its organizational mandate, and communications activities throughout the year to its internal and external audiences. 

The nomination period is closed.

2020 Award Recipient: Rowing Canada Aviron

Rowing Canada Aviron has consistently demonstrated their commitment to coach development and to upholding the values of the National Coaching Certification Program. 

In 2018, the RCA launched the “Every Coach Certified” initiative to ensure that every rowing coach in Canada will be NCCP Certified by the end of 2020. This initiative was born from the belief that coaches are ambassadors of sport and vital to the success of rowing in Canada.
Under the Every Coach Certified framework, coaches complete a foundational series of NCCP modules and all organizations ensure that their coaches undergo a Criminal Record Check every three years.

By setting rigorous standards for coaches and increasing accessibility of coach education, the RCA is continuing to create a sport environment that emphasizes safety and respect for all participants.

Previous Award Recipients
2019: Canadian Lacrosse Association 2018: Tennis Canada 2017: Baseball Canada 2016: viaSport British Columbia 2015: Canada Basketball
2014: Hockey Canada 2013: Rowing Canada 2102: Speed Skating Canada 2011: Taekwondo Canada 2010: Swimming Canada
2009: Athletics Canada 2008: Skate Canada 2007: Skate Canada 2006: Diving Canada 2005: Diving Canada